Back to top

Past Winners of the Patricia Baker Award

NUCAUT is pleased to announce the winners of the Patricia Baker Award for Union Activism in the Post-secondary Education Sector. They are Glenis Joyce and Penni Stewart.

Glenis Joyce is a member of the University of Saskatchewan Faculty Association. Glenis' commitment to equity has been demonstrated through her work within the faculty association, other unions, and more broadly with local, provincial and national communities and organizations. Her interests include work on bullying and harassment, pay equity, and employment equity. Glenis has also played key roles in two Human Rights Tribunal cases -- one to address the underfunding of women's sport at the University of Saskatchewan and the other a complaint of systemic discrimination in the Canada Research Chairs Program.

Penni Stewart is a member of the York University Faculty Association. Penni has served her faculty association as president, grievance officer and member of the bargaining team as well as the association's Community Projects Committee. Some of gains made by her association as a result of her work include the negotiation of contract language on harassment and affirmative action, the development of the "salary adjustment fund" and the development of a transition year program to support entry into university of students who, for reasons of inequity, would otherwise not have access. Penni's activism not only demonstrates a commitment to creating equity but also a commitment to collaborative processes and inclusive practices. 

The Patricia Baker Award was created by the NUCAUT Convention in 2008 and recognizes outstanding contributions by members of NUCAUT locals to the advancement of equity in the post-secondary community. It is the first time since its creation that the award has been given. Information about the award's criteria and nomination process are available here.